Kombucha time

I’m putting this here mostly so I don’t have to keep texting my brother for his kombucha recipe every time I want to make some.  His recipe makes a gallon but that’s a bit too much for us to go through before it starts getting too strong.  I cut it in half.

My brother’s basic recipe is as follows:

  • 8 cups water
  • 4 Tbs black tea
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • Kombucha mama
  • Time

I have a bad habit of not finishing things.  This applies in many areas, but it’s relevant to this post because I have a lot of almost dead fancy teas.   As an exercise in finishing things I thought I’d use up a couple of teas that have been with me for an embarrassingly long time.  The recipe is in tablespoons but for Fun and Science™ I thought I’d weigh things out.  Here’s how my ‘bucha bill ended up:

  • 5 grams jasmine yin hao (from when my brother used to work for a tea distributor, I think)
  • 7 grams mango tango (from the Boulder Dushanbe Teahouse — don’t ask me when I was last in Boulder)
  • 4 grams (two tea bags) oolong tea (no story, they come in a box of 100)
Kombucha ingredients

The teas (left to right): oolong, mango tango, jasmine yin hao

It’s been a while since I last made Kombucha and our SCOBY had dried out a bit.  I gave it some more water and a bit of sugar to perk it up while the water boiled.   I poured 7 cups of boiling water on the tea ball and let it steep for two minutes.  Then I added the the last cup of water cold to help bring the temperature down.  Normally I would use less hot water so it wouldn’t take as long to cool but 7 cups was how much it took to submerge the tea ball in the crock I used.  Once the temperature cooled down enough (comfortably warm, not hot) I added the mother and covered the crock with a cloth.  It should take about a week to ferment.  When it’s ready I’ll be back with an update and let you know how it turned out.

0 Responses to “Kombucha time”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Pages

Categories

October 2013
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jan »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

