Thing-A-Day Day One: A Hollow Book

Today did not go exactly as planned.  I wanted to kick off Thing-A-Day with something substantial, so I was originally planning to go to Pumping Station: One and finish the construction of a vertical garden I started with my brother.  Unfortuneately Snowpocalypse had other ideas and I ended up at home.  Due to my recent move, my tools and materials are in quite a bit of disarray, so my options were fairly limited.

I ended up starting a hollow book.  I found some directions over here and started looking for a book to chop up.  I went with an old Harvard Collection Philosophy book that I, uh, borrowed from the library ~10 years ago.  I didn’t get too far.  I glued the sides together and got about 1/4 inch down into the book.  I couldn’t find an appropriate dremel bit, and the one I ended up using gave off some unpleasant smoke.

This wasn’t the way I wanted to kick off this month, but it has been a good lesson in how crucial planning is.  Hopefully I’ll finish this off tomorrow and give myself some time to plan things out for Thursday more carefully.

Leave a comment




Pages

Categories

February 2011
M T W T F S S
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28